Welcome to the ISIC2020 website!

We are keeping the original information on the physical conference, but please note that ISIC2020 will now be the first virtual ISIC conference.

If you register, please remember to register for the workshops as well, listed under Extras. If you want to attend a workshop and have already registered and paid, please write to Ina Fourie: ina.fourie@up.ac.za or isic2020@up.ac.za. We will add your name to a list and when we close conference registration we will be able to allow you to add the workshop registration and settle payment. Unfortunately the University of Pretoria registration does not allow you to add anything after payment. We apologise for any inconvenience.

  • The Department of Information Science, University of Pretoria, South Africa (https://www.up.ac.za/information-science) welcomes you to ISIC2020 – The Information Behaviour Conference taking place from 28 September to 1 October 2020.

  • We invite you to present your work in information behaviour at ISIC 2020. We especially want to welcome newcomers from South Africa and other African countries and doctoral students to become part of the ISIC community. We also hope to see many familiar ISIC conference faces and ISIC Steering Committee members.
  • With the support of the ISIC Steering Committee and the expert ISIC2020 international programme committee, we plan to offer you a programme with rich and expert content. Our conference will offer excellent networking and brainstorming opportunities.

  • Pretoria is known as Tshwane and the Jacaranda City due to purple Jacaranda trees that might be in early bloom during the conference. The city is within 1 – 1½ hour’s drive of various private game reserves. South Africa has often been described as many countries in one.

University of Pretoria

On 10 February 1908 a new department of the Transvaal University College (T.U.C.), situated in Johannesburg, started its classes in Kya Rosa, a house in Skinner Street, Pretoria. This department, consisting of arts and science courses with four professors, three lecturers and thirty-two students, developed into the University of Pretoria. The nickname for the university – Tuks or Tukkies is derived from the TUC acronym. The University of Pretoria, into which the Transvaal University College was incorporated, was upgraded as a fully-fledged and autonomous university on 10 October 1930, having been a university college since 17 May 1910. The University of Pretoria has six campuses across the city. The main campus is located in Hatfield and incorporates numerous historic buildings including the Old Arts Building and the Old Merensky Library, both national monuments. The University celebrated its 100th year anniversary in 2008. For the link to see more details and the research achievements of the University of Pretoria: https://www.up.ac.za/

See below some of the beautiful buildings on the University of Pretoria’s Hatfield Campus.

Department of Information Science

The Department of Information Science is situated in the School of Information Technology (with the Department of Computer Science and Department of Informatics). The School of IT is situated in the Faculty of Engineering, Built Environment and Information Technology (EBIT). The Department offers degree programmes from bachelor to doctoral level in Information Science, Multimedia and Publishing, and is also involved in three interdisciplinary Master’s programmes in information technology which focus on business, library and information science, and data science. Our research is internationally recognised and has various international research collaborations in different fields and countries ranging from the USA and Scandinavia to the UK and Australia. The Department also hosts the African Centre of Excellence in Information Ethics.

For more information, see:
• Department of Information Science: https://www.up.ac.za/information-science and the words of the Head of Department, Prof Archie Dick (https://www.up.ac.za/information-science/article/47927/message-from-the-hod)
• School of Information Technology (SIT): https://www.up.ac.za/school-of-information-technology
• Faculty: Engineering, Built Environment and Information Technology (EBIT): https://www.up.ac.za/faculty-of-engineering-built-environment-it

We appreciate the support from:

  • Colleagues from: University of Cape Town, University of KwaZulu Natal, University of Western Cape, University of Zululand, and formerly from Unisa